Mark Due Today in Omnifocus 3

Disclaimer: First post, first question, total noob.

Hi, :wave:.

I'm Beck and I would like to create KM macros for OF so that a hot key triggers marking a task due today.

Stretch goal: I would also like to create a macro to mark a task due +1 day and be able to use it over and over so that, say, it'd be due four days from now, if I pressed the combo that many times in a row.

I really have no idea where to start. FWIW, there does not appear to be a menu option that marks a task due today or +1's its due date.

Much thanks!
Beck

The best thing to do would be to list, step-by-step, the exact manual workflow you use to accomplish this task. Include screenshots of the region of interest where needed to clarify.

@JMichaelTX, you're reminding me of my GOMS assignments. :slight_smile:

I'm guessing this will depend on the Perspective I'm looking at, but here are the steps for the Perspective I'm most commonly viewing:

Mark due today using mouse and keyboard:

1. Select task
  2. Select due date
  3. Type "today"
  4. Press Enter

Mark due today with just keyboard:

1. Press ⌘+Enter
  2. Tab
  3. Type "today"
  4. Press Enter

For the stretch goal...

Move due date one day forward with mouse only:

1. Select task
  2. Select +1 day button in Inspector Pane

Move due date one day forward with keyboard only:

1. Press ⌘+Enter
  2. Press tab 16 times
  3. Press space bar

This is very doable using commonly used actions:

1. Type a Keystroke action with "⌘+Enter"
  2. Type a Keystroke: "TAB"
  3. Insert Text action by Pasting or Typing: "today"
  4. Type a Keystroke: "ENTER"

For more direct and powerful options, you can use AppleScript:
See OmniFocus 3 AppleScript Guide

Questions?

I'm not near my Mac right now.

Why not have a macro that ask you how many days you want to advance it? If you type '0' then it will be today. Otherwise, if you type '3', it will be today + 3 days.