Move/copy files based on creation date

Hi there!
I’m new to this and can not find a way to move or copy files from one folder to another based on creation or modification date of the files.

:_(

Do you want to trigger this manually from a bunch of files you’ve selected, or automatically have the system do it every so often?

Thank for a really fast answer!

I want to trigger this manually for the moment. I want KM to look into a bunch o folders and nested folder and copy the files to one specific folder in another volume. But just files created or modified within the last two weeks. You can compare it with a kind of backup.

If there is a way to trigger this on a specific day it would be nice as well.

Do you want the files to be put altogether into one folder, or to you want them to be still nested in subfolders like they originally were?

I believe the following macro will do what you need. (That said, Automator (free) or Hazel (worth the money) might be a better option for this.)

You'll need to change the hardcoded directories to the directory you're watching and the directory you're copying the files too. This puts all the files in one folder. If you need it different, per my question above, that shouldn't be too hard to adjust.

Basically, it

• looks at all the files in the given folder
  • sets the duration you care about to 2 weeks in seconds (1209600)
  • gets the last modification date
  • calculates the time from the last modification to now
  • If the time since the last modification is less than the duration you picked, and the path object is a file (to avoid applying this to folders then
  • move that path to your chosen directory.

There might be a better way to do the date math, but I don't know what it is.

Jonas_Bohlin test macro.kmmacros (4.7 KB)

2 Likes

Hi,