Newbe needs help with a macro

Hello, I’m new to Keyboard Maestro and while I’m usually pretty tech savvy, this program is stumping me. I’m a video editor with lots and lots and lots of QuickTime movies that need to be saved as “auto play”.

I just can’t figure out how to set up this macro. I’m hopeful someone can provide me info (or even, if I dare hope, the acutal macro instructions!). I’m on late 2013 MacPro on OS 10.10.5 with a full-size keyboard with numeric keypad.

Here’s what needs to happen, step-by-step, once I’ve opened a movie in QuickTime Player 7 (Yes QT 7, NOT the newer QT Player 10.4):

1. Press an assigned macro key (say, F6)
  2. Next, “Command J” has to be typed which opens the “Properties for” tab
  3. Next, the macro needs to select the “Presentation” tab
  4. Next, the “Automatically play movie when opened” needs to be check marked in the empty box
  5. Next, “Shift Command S” needs to be pressed so the “save as” tab appears. The filename would be something like “originalfilename*.mov”
  6. Next, the right arrow needs to be pressed so the cursor moves to the end of the filename but before the .mov extension (this is the default cursor placemet)
  7. Next, delete needs to be pressed one time, so the * at the end of the filename gets removed so the new file is simply “originalfilename.mov” (note, no asterisk)
  8. Next, the macro needs to select “Save”. (“Save as a self-contained movie” is the default selection in QuickTime 7.)

Voila! The new auto play movie will save right next to the original movie in the same folder. Hitting the same macro on each movie that needs to be set to auto play will save me oodles of time (8 steps each time!)

Can anyone help me with this probably simple macro?

Thanks big-time in advance,

Reed

Hi Reed,