Newbie question, Clipboard history is great, is there a way to reverse sort the entries?

Hi

Newbie here. I really like the clipboard history. I use it all the time, however I would love to be able to see my history in reverse sort (oldest first - date modified) rather than the current (newest first - date modified). Is this possible?

Thanks in advance
Tom

Maybe you know this, (I can't tell if you already know this) but if you press the "End" key, it will take you to the end and the oldest is visible at the bottom. This is not exactly what you want, but it's pretty similar to what you want.

Thank you Airy for your great suggestion.

I was hoping / looking for more of a view change rather than an individual selection. a sort by oldest would allow me to view / select / export a selection of notes as I read them rather than in reverse.

My other option would be to export then find another app to reverse the order but I was hoping I could do this within KM itself.

Thanks again
Tom

AFAIK you can't change the view, nor can you "reverse merge" the entries.

What you can do, however, is "promote" historical entries to the System Clipboard -- do that in the right order and you'll have your reversed list of entries, albeit at the top of the list and with reset timestamps. And since this is KM, you can do it with a macro!

See if this gets close to what you want:

Clipboard History Reverse.kmmacros (3.5 KB)

1 Like

Nige

You are a genius, my friend. Problem solved!!!

Tom

2 Likes

I learn something from him every day, like that macro he just gave you. Pretty smart of him.

2 Likes

Side note here, but the sort of hidden built-in system shortcut for navigating to the top/bottom of a list is Option-[Up Arrow/Down Arrow]. This works most everywhere—Finder list views, Mail mailboxes, the Keyboard Maestro Groups column, the menus of an app, etc., etc., etc.