Newbie Question - Passing a Variable to the Script Does Not Work

Hi, I would like to use a script to tag my image files selected in the Finder.

Unfortunately, I get an error in Terminal:

Last login: Sun Oct  9 17:53:49 on ttys000
You have mail.

The default interactive shell is now zsh.
To update your account to use zsh, please run `chsh -s /bin/zsh`.
For more details, please visit https://support.apple.com/kb/HT208050.
MBP-2021:~ micha$ km1='/Users/michaelschwaiger/Downloads/File1.jpg'; /usr/local/bin/exiftool "-keywords=TESTKEYB" "$km1"
Error: File not found - /Users/micha/Downloads/File1.jpg
    0 image files updated
    1 files weren't updated due to errors
MBP-2021:~ micha$

I'm a complete beginner unfortunately, what am I doing wrong with the passing?

Thank you very much for your support.

Thank you. I definitely need to check this.

Thank you for your support. I tried your Macro, but I can't see the keyword when I check the file.

@noisneil’s macro is setting a Finder Tag whereas you’re trying to write an EXIF tag to the file which as you know are two completely different things.

1 Like

Oops. :man_facepalming:t2:

I’m not sure why you’re using the 3rd party plug in to run your shell script in terminal. You do know that KM has a built-in action to execute shell scripts? It’s documented in the KM wiki here: action:Execute a Shell Script [Keyboard Maestro Wiki]

In addition, there is a huge amount of discussion in this forum regarding running shell scripts so be sure to check that out too. In particular - search this forum for “EXIF” and you’ll get lots of hits.

2 Likes

Thank you very much! In fact, I had checked the forum here once for the task I want to solve (tagging image files with keywords). That's where I got the example from, but couldn't successfully implement it.

I'll have a look at your link and look for more examples.

Thanks again

Let us know how you get on!

Sorry for the late reply, but I was on vacation the last few days.