Pasting a number in pairs of 2

Hey all!

I’m new to Keyboard Maestro but I have some experience with Autohotkey.
However, I need a macro on my mac.

I have a “number” (it’s actually a video timecode separated by colons) which looks like that:
10:12:34:11

Now, what I want to do is, to copy that whole “number” from a text file and paste it in 4 different fields in Filemaker (via tab). Like: 1st field: 10, 2nd field 12, 3rd field 34 and 4th field 11.
Is there an elegant way to solve this?

Thanks for your help!

Best,

Stevie

This is NOT the complete macro, but should serve to illustrate the basics of what you need. Basically, convert the input text into an KM array by replacing the colons with commas. Then you can refer to each array element using the KM Calculate function:
%Calculate%Test1[1]%

Then using the Insert Text by Pasting, and Type a Keystroke (TAB), you can enter each field.

When finished, you will:

1. Copy the time code text to the clipboard
  2. Switch to the Filemaker app
  3. Click in the first field
  4. Run the KM Macro

1 Like

Hey JMichael!

Wow, thanks a lot, that get’s me more than started!

Cheers,

Stevie

There's a small problem that I just noticed. When I got a TC like 10:00:00:00, KM will replace the two 0s with one 0. Is there a way to force KM to keep the double 0s?

EDIT: solved it with this workaround!

If you're happy with your fix, then stick with it.
I just did a test and I see that it also converts "05" to "5", so it is evaluating array elements as numbers. I'm not sure if that is a bug or by design.

@peternlewis, is this by design?

But if you really wanted to go the extra trouble, you could do a RegEx with the matching results going into 4 separate KM vars. This would treat the "00" as characters.

Yep you are right, I completely forgot about the numbers with a leading zero. Yep, treating them as variables might be the only way to solve this. I'll see what I come up with.

EDIT: okay fixed!