Preview Top Hit in Pop-Up Browser Window (without activating browser)

This macro (available here) leverages KM to chain together the functionality of some disparate productivity tools, including Automator, LaunchBar and Brett Terpstra's SearchLink tool, both of which must be installed to make this work. There is probably an elegant coding solution to this but ... I am not a coder! Anyway, it's fun tinkering!

(Side note: I'm not going to go into all of the functionality of SearchLink. I will let you all explore SearchLink on Brett Terpstra's site and follow the instructions for installation and use. Suffice it to say that it is an outstanding tool for exploiting Markdown syntax to its fullest. It was designed to facilitate quick inputting of links into documents prepared for web publishing.)

OK, so we sometimes like to do a quick web search while reading an article, say, in order to get up to speed quickly on an item with which we are unfamiliar appearing in the text of the article. Or maybe we're writing something in a text editor and we want to do a quick search on an item to which we've referred in the text. Instead of activating your browser in order to execute the search and view results, this macro takes a text selection as a search query, runs a search and returns the top hit to a pop-up browser window which does not require Safari activation and can be dismissed immediately with the Escape key.

First, the macro copies the text selection, let's say it's "Ed Gillespie" (cough ... loser ... cough). It then wraps the clipboard text in SearchLink syntax. The syntax will cause SearchLink to run a top hit search and return the top hit URL to the clipboard (as opposed to outputting a Markdown link, for example). The syntax looks like this:

!g Ed Gillespie !!^

The macro then executes a workflow...

... which sends the selected text, now copied and wrapped, to LaunchBar, as a text item.