Random Home Page on Safari

Hi everybody. I've been looking for an extension on Safari that allows you to program more than one home page. Then have it display a random selection of home pages (from a custom url list you create).

For example, if I open a new window (or click on home icon) it will open Wall Street Journal home page, later on when I open Safari again with a new window or tab it will open yahoo.com... then later... LA Times.... and if I refresh or click ohome page it gives me reddit... then twitter and so on.

I would ultimately just create a list of like 6 urls or so, but the idea is you get different social media or news feeds thorough out the day as you carry on with work.

Is there a way to do this with KM... I feel like there is and I just have to figure it out I guess. Unless someone knows exactly what to do and thus save me a lot of experimenting (I'm not a programmer). Thanks all!

If you always use Command-N to open a new page, then you can just have that trigger a macro which uses the New Safari Window action with a randomly selected URL.

1 Like

So, then the question is... how do you create a random action?

Try this macro for size:
Test Random Homepage.kmmacros (5.1 KB)

Click to see macro

Change the list of URLs to suit yourself.

You must place this macro in a macro group that is active only for Safari, like this:
KM 0 2022-10-11_18-21-19

The macro runs (provided you've enabled it first) when you type N while in Safari.

You can change the hotkey trigger to whatever you prefer...

1 Like

Use a Switch or Case action with a RAND function, and each case entry can be a different home page.

1 Like