RegEx to find specific word

Warning: I'm still learning RegEx, so this might be basic for some of you. In this particular case I just copied this from a website.

After some research I was able to find the RegEx to find a specific word while excluding words that include that word, for example, if I want to find anything with the word rocket, but exclude rocketed

(?:^|\W)rocket(?:$|\W)

Now when I test it at https://regex101.com, I get this result where it includes the 2 spaces before and after:

Also, if my string is rocket. it will also validate. I want it to be exclusive to what I type and exclude everything else, no matter what comes before or after

I also noticed that using roCket for example, will not validate using that expression.
I was able to change that by using:
(?i)(?:^|\W)rocket(?:$|\W)(?-i)
Is this a good approach?

Try using

\brocket\b

The "\b" means match a word boundary.

2 Likes

That's great and simple! Thanks! :raised_hands:
So if I want to match anything (case insensitive), would this be the way to do it?
(?i)\brocket\b(?-i)

I tested it and it seems to work on both the regex101 website and KM.

Also, for readability purposes, I think this would be better
(?i)\b(rocket)\b(?-i)

It also seems to work. Do you see it creating any issues in other scenarios?

I'll start with a disclaimer that I am by no means a regex expert, so if one of them happens along listen to them, not me :grin:

I don't think you need the final "(?-i)" as there is nothing after it, the opening "(?i)" is sufficient to make the subsequent pattern match case insensitive.