Remove blank lines from regex search and replace

Hello there.

I got some help from Peter a while ago for a regex search and not replace to get the lines I needed after the # sign. That works well. I am trying to improve on it by removing the blank lnes that get injected into the clipboard.

I've muddled with it for some time and I can't wrap my head around it. I can see the variables changing and such but I'm sure I'm missing some syntax or I'm realy out to lunch. Any help would be apreciated.

SCR-20231213-neda
PT Clean Paste .kmmacros (5.9 KB)

I hate to suggest something stupid, and I'm not sure of your entire macro so I don't know how it'd fit, but what about Filter: Trim Whitespace as an action after the regex?

-rob.

1 Like

Thanks! I tried it but perhaps I don't know what I am doing. I scratched my current macro and decided to go back to what Peter had working for me. So if I try the filter and apply it to the source, it doesn't seem to be doing much .

I am brand new to KM - I'll learn the ropes.. ha.

Can you show the contents (Display Window) of the clipboard, both before and after your manipulation?

-rob.

Your macro starts with "if the clipboard contains a $" but I don't see any "$" in the example you provided so that could be why your macro "doesn't seem to be doing much."

Just an idea. I don't know how your clipboard is generated, so my idea may not be correct.

OK that's probably because I don't really know how to handle my situation and use cases: Let me try and explain.
I've got this one macro that also is being triggered with a clipboard changed - that one pulls out all the dollar amounts and puts it back to the clipboard nice and clean. Not sure how I managed to pull through that one but it's using regex groups and actually doing what I want. See here:
Capture $ amounts.kmmacros (6.5 KB)
But then I also want to do a regex search adn replace so I get my clean clipboard with removing everything before the # sign.