Rename A Document File in the Finder With Word Count Appended

Hey Guys,

I’m a writer and I have a lot of documents (text, word, markdown, pdf etc) and am often plagued with the question of which draft might be the one that might have less or more words — especially a few years down the line when I’m looking for something specific or want to get a quick comparison of similar drafts by a quick glance alone.

I realize this is not something many will request, but I was thinking — is it possible to create a keyboard maestro macro that in Finder will return the word count of a document and rename it with the word count appended?

Something like this: draft 6 (1234 words)

I’m not sure if this is even possible but I thought I’d run the idea past you all who are far more knowledgeable than me.

Appreciate your thoughts and help in advance :blush::metal:

Hey Shande,

Possible but not easy – particularly since you're dealing with multiple file types that are not all text based.

Word is a bit relative, so what you think is a word and what the parser thinks is a word are not always the same thing.

Nevertheless you should be able to do this in a consistent fashion once you have the right tools.

It's probably better to wait until Keyboard Maestro 10 comes out to work on this seriously. ( Don't ask when. :)

Tools will include:

• The shell.
    • Direct word count for text files (if other methods are not available).
    • Xpdf to TEXT tools.
    • Probably PanDoc.
    • Perhaps Python 3.

It'll be a pretty substantial task.

-Chris

I'll (foolishly) take a stab at this.

The word count is wildly inaccurate (it just counts strings of characters that are not white space as words) but it is consistent. So it will be precisely as inaccurate with draft 7 as draft 6. I think that meets your specs.