Replace comma by Enter

Hi all,

Total novice here trying out Keyboard Maestro before ultimately purchasing. I am trying to create an action that replaces a comma plus a space by an Enter/Return. I have managed to copy the text, open Microsoft Word, paste the text, but I can't seem to find out how to remove the comma and space, and then replace it by an Enter/Return. My idea is to then copy the result, open my label printer software and paste the text, so that it will be ready to print.

Any suggestion on how to do that? If you know of a more efficient way to do this without opening a text processing application, that would also be very welcome.

Welcome to the KM Forum.

It seems like what you're trying to do is quite straightforward. But to be sure, please provide further information. For example:

1. Where do you get the original text from? An app?
  2. Provide an example of the text that you're starting with.
  3. Show how you want that text to appear after the transformation and before you paste it into your printer software.
  4. Which printer software are you using?

This will help someone here come up with a good answer for you!

Thank you very much for your quick and kind response!

The text will be from a PDF file, selection of what will have to be copied is already made manually.

Input format is like:
Mr John Smith, 132 Chapel Hill, Heswall, Bournemouth, BH1 1AA, United Kingdom

Output format should be:
Mr John Smith
132 Chapel Hill
Heswall
Bournemouth
BH1 1AA
United Kingdom

Printer software is called Dymo Label.

Here's a demo macro for you to explore. The two red-coloured actions are there just for when I was testing so you can just delete them.

The macro in essence takes the clipboard contents and uses a regular expression replacement action to perform the reformatting as you required, leaving the result in the clipboard - ready to be pasted into your label software.