Safari, Password Entry As Programmed Not Reliable, Is There A Better Way

I wrote the below macro to start safari and log onto a specific website.

The macro is not reliable; specifically sometimes the first tab command (coloured in green) is needed and sometimes it is not (i.e. it overshoots and the username is entered into the password feel).

Would appreciate your assistance and input into a more reliable way of doing this.

Thanks.

Start Safari and Load Josh Portal.kmmacros (137 KB)

What I do to fix this sort of thing is use the mouse action to click in the text box that you want to make active. but since the box you want is a text input box, I believe there are better ways of solving this using this action: (where you use the pull down arrow to the right of the word "Safari" to fetch the name of the input box.)

Warning, I have no experience with this action so there's a 30% chance I'm wrong.

Appreciate that, will try that later. Perhaps others can weigh in. Thank yoU!

This works with Safari 14.1.2 on Mojave but may require adjustment for later versions of macOS.

Close the Private Browsing Notice in a Safari window:

# Close Private Browsing Notice
tell application "System Events"
   tell application "System Events"
      tell application process "Safari"
         tell (first window whose subrole is "AXStandardWindow")
            try
               tell splitter group 1
                  tell tab group 1
                     tell group 2
                        tell button 1
                           if exists of it then
                              perform action "AXPress"
                           end if
                        end tell
                     end tell
                  end tell
               end tell
            end try
         end tell
      end tell
   end tell
end tell

This will fail silently if the notice does not exist.

@Sleepy is right. It's better to use the Set Safari Field to Text action if possible.