Save Apple Mail Attachments to a Specific Folder

Hi,

I'm very very new to KM so sorry if I'm overlooking something.

I'm trying to create a KM macro that when I select a Status Menu item it will save all attachment from selected emails in Apple Mail to a specific folder. This is for an school assigment where students will send me a PDF in the mail that I have to archive to a folder. To prevent myself from having to do this multiple times I'd like to automate.

What I've tried so far is:
Triggered by any of the following:
The Status Menu
Will execute the following actions:
Activate Mail
Select Menu Item in Mail
Select: File ⇢ Save Attachments…
Stop macro if menu cannot be selected

Where I'm stuck is how I can tell the dialogue that opens that it has to select a specific folder. I don't want to have to interact with the save dialogue.

So I'm guessing that there is a better way, maybe where I don't choose a menu Item.
Is there a feature in KM that can read attachments from selected messages and copy them to a certain path?

Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction to better start understanding KM.

Thanks, Jan

1 Like

There is an extremely useful feature of the Open/Save dialog that allows it to be easily automated.

In the dialog, press Command-Shift-G. You can now enter the full path of the file you wish to select/save.

This is easily controlled with Keyboard Maestro, since you can Type a Keystroke: Command-Shift-G, followed by Insert Text by Pasting or Typing the desired path, followed by Type a Keystroke: Return, and perhaps another Return to complete the dialog. You may need Pause actions to ensure any windows are opened or closed before the next action proceeds.

Thanks Peter, that is great info. I’m going to try that.

Thanks again,
Jan

Updated 2018/08/24 16:10

• A Fully Functional Macro was added below.
  • A User-Setting for the Save Destination Path was added to the macro.

Hey Jan,

This job is AppleScriptable if you're using Apple Mail.