Select Most Recent Download and Attach to an Airmail Message

Hi All,

Forgive me, absolute newbie and still tinkering & learning!

I want to set up a command to open Airmail, create a new email to a specific email address, insert a standard subject, then attach the most recent downloaded file on my computer and send....

I am up to the attach the file bit and am a bit lost. Will I also need to start teaching myself AppleScript??? Eek!

Have you considered using the built in KM action to send a mail message, with attachment, instead of AirMail? (I have no idea what Airmail is.)

Airmail is an email client for macOS.

Keyboard Maestro's Send Mail Message action works strictly with Apple Mail.

Hey Claire,

I don't have Airmail to test with, but I strongly doubt its AppleScript suite included the ability to attach a file.

You'll probably have to brute-force the UI with Keyboard Maestro.

-Chris

Everything you wrote is correct. But I asked him if he considered using the KM action instead of Airmail. The KM action might work much more easily for the problem he described.

I don't have Airmail installed, but if it lets you attach a file by pasting it into the email composer window, you might be able to use a For Each action and the Set Clipboard to File Reference action to place the most recently downloaded/added file in a folder onto the clipboard and pasting it:

Example Macro.kmmacros (2.4 KB)

Assuming attaching by pasting works, once you're sure the macro is placing the right file one the clipboard, you can enable the Paste action to further automate the process.

1 Like

I downloaded Airmail from the app-store, and looked at its AppleScript dictionary.

Airmail 5 has improved. It now has a mail attachment element in its outgoing message class, so it does look like this can be scripted.

Unfortunately I'd have to pay for the software to test it, so I can't divine the correct syntax. Something like this I'd guess:

set filePath to "posix path to your file"