Selecting and copying lines from a text file

Hi,

Apologies if this is a simple one, but I'm very new to KM and have got myself in a pinch at work where I need to find a solution ASAP and I'm struggling to find anything one this.

In short, I work as an assistant editor and I am trying to create a series of macros to run on a streamdeck where each button will paste a line of text from a text file. I'm unsure of how to isolate individual lines of text and copy them to the clipboard.

This is the workflow that I want to set up.

1. A text file will live on my desktop (always named the same) and I will paste multiple lines of text from another source into that document.
  2. My streamdeck will be configured so that each button will be assigned to a line of text, ie, 1,2,3,4,5,6 etc.
  3. When a button on the Streamdeck is pushed, the KM macro will read the corresponding line from the text file into the clipboard.
  4. That line of text will be pasted into my active window

The master text file I'll be reading from will be constantly wiped and updated with new text, so it should be quite simple I hope! The macro just had to read from a certain line and the refer to the line number only, not the text within it - so that when my text file is updated and changed, nothing needs to be edited in the macros.

I'm aware this comes close, or does exactly what I'm after, I'm not sure - but it's a little confusing to me!

Thanks, appreciate any help anyone offers!
Kyan

Welcome to the KM Forum!

Your question is very straightforward to address using the actions provided by KM.

Here’s the approach needed to get individual line of text from a file:

• Read the file into a KM variable (called, say, Text)
  • Get the first line of text with this syntax %Variable%Text[1]\n%
  • Get the second line of text with this syntax %Variable%Text[2]\n%
  • Get the third line of text with this syntax %Variable%Text[3]\n%