Semaphore Lock for Dummies

Hi Peter N Lewis,

I used your product to overcome RSI injury from typing. Your product saved my butt! So grateful.

Anyhoo- I'm not a coder, and am having difficulty understanding the Semaphore Lock function.

Could you be so kind as to post the exact steps to take to prevent multiple macros from running simultaneously? I have read a few articles here, but can't seem to make it work. https://wiki.keyboardmaestro.com/action/Semaphore_Lock

The goal is to trigger a macro, then trigger another one, but this one waits for the previous to finish.

Thanks a bunch in advance.

-Hutch

I'm not one of the elite superusers on this forum but I use semaphores in many of my macros to prevent duplicate executions. The simplest solution is just put this at the top of your macro, using any name in the field:

I usually use something similar to the name of my macro.

However this simple solution means that if you call it twice at roughly the same time, the first occurrence will complete, then the second occurrence will start up as soon as the first one has completed. This isn't always what you want. So here's what I usually do. I set a timeout value on the semaphore lock. Like this:

This way the second occurrence will not run at all, if it gets stuck waiting for more than one second.

I find that this solves most of my needs. For example, some of my macros can be invoked by either a timer or a function key. This prevents the timer one from starting up if I've already started it with function key.

3 Likes

You used to type with your butt ?!

4 Likes

The key is to use the same Semaphore Lock Name at the top of each of the Macro for which you want sequential execution. Then each Macro will wait until the previously triggered Macro has completed before it is executed.

From Semaphore Lock action:

Preventing Multiple Executions of One or More Macros