Send unicode characters (å, ë, í...) as keystroke

Hello community! :slightly_smiling_face:
I am coming from PC environment with AutoHotKey which I use for macros. So please excuse me in advance for noob questions since i am new to Mac ecosystem and KM.

Basically I need when i press F5 to send å as key (not as a text -if that makes sense) is that possible with KM?

The problem is that my program beside its own key commands it can use unicode characters as input so I am unfortunately forced to use it that way cause program interfere with existing shortcuts/key commands (the same is on PC with AHK)

I would appreciate any kind of help here.

Thanks

Does this work?

Send Unicode Macro

Send Unicode.kmmacros (1.8 KB)

(Typing unicode on the Mac is easy. Dan Moren explains the trick in Quick Tip: Typing Characters With Diacritics on the Mac.)

Hi mrpasini thanks for chiming in!

Yes I tried that already and unfortunately my program doesn't receive that as key command (keystroke) so I guess I am unlucky :frowning:

I will examine link further in more detail. In case you got something else to suggest please do so :slight_smile:

Thanks again. Cheers

@Karlos -- it would help if you say what the program is and, perhaps, where you are trying to type, and even the language your OS/keyboard is set to. And since you're coming from a PC -- is it a Mac program or are you running it in a VM? At least then someone might be able to replicate your issue.

Meanwhile, here are three other KM actions that will insert your "å" -- the first two use the Unicode code point, and you can find the codes for other characters here -- in the KM token you must use the two, four, or six character hex codes from the first column of those tables.

Thanks for your response mate,

Sorry I didn't know its necessary so here are the details:

MacBook Pro late 2017
Language/Keyboard: U.S
Program I want to control with KM is "Cubase" Its music creation native mac app so no VM is involved.