Setting the environment variable for Ruby

Hello!

I have some Ruby scripts that I’m executing from Keyboard Maestro through “Execute Shell Script” action pointing to a .rb file. Up until some time I was using OS X’s default Ruby installation and everything worked perfectly well but I started to have some problems with Ruby gems installation and updating so, following the recommendations found online, I’ve switched to RVM.

Outside of KM, everything works OK but now my scripts (when executed from KM) don’t work properly. I’ve researched this topic a little and found this KM’s Wiki article. My knowledge of Ruby is mostly about scripting and I’m not a developer per se therefore I wasn’t sure how can I follow those instructions to fix the scripts in my KM installation.

Some technical details:

• I’m using KM 7.0.2
  • I’m using it on OS X 10.11.2
  • My RVM installation uses ruby 2.1.1p76 (2014-02-24 revision 45161) [x86_64-darwin12.0]

Executing a .rb script file from KM containing:

#!/usr/bin/env ruby
require 'thor'
puts "This worked out OK!"

results in error:

/Library/Ruby/Site/2.0.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:54:in `require': cannot load such file -- thor (LoadError)
	from /Library/Ruby/Site/2.0.0/rubygems/core_ext/kernel_require.rb:54:in `require'
	from /Users/pglaz/Documents/IT/Ruby/test.rb:3:in `<main>'

If I run gem list from KM I get:

bigdecimal (1.2.0)
CFPropertyList (2.2.8)
io-console (0.4.2)
json (1.7.7)
libxml-ruby (2.6.0)
minitest (4.3.2)
nokogiri (1.5.6)
psych (2.0.0)
rake (0.9.6)
rdoc (4.0.0)
sqlite3 (1.3.7)
test-unit (2.0.0.0)

(complete list)

While running the same from OS X Terminal gives me:

*** LOCAL GEMS ***

activesupport (4.2.5, 4.1.8)
(...)
rubygems-bundler (1.4.3)
rvm (1.11.3.9)
safe_yaml (1.0.4)
sass (3.4.19, 3.4.9)
terminal-table (1.4.5)
test-unit (2.1.1.0)
thor (0.19.1)
(...)

(list shortened for readability)