Show pallet with folder contents?

Is there a way to create a pop-up Pallet that shows a contents of a folder with the ability to click on the item to launch/open the item up?

Yep. Checkout the Prompt for File action. After picking the file, use the Open a File action.

But you can't get a palette like the KM Macro Group palettes.

It's not clear what you are expecting. The above shows a popup like the normal File > Open dialog.

If you really want a one-click style palette, then you could design your own using the Custom HTML Prompt action. It uses standard HTML and JavaScript, so you can do pretty much anything you see on the web.

JM,

I just want to use KM Macro Group palette (that is linked to another pallet button).

Example: KM palette that shows a folder icon, you select it and a sub palette comes up with contents of files that were placed in a folder through out the day. If clicked, can open that particular file. All through KM palettes.

Thanks!

I'm no palette expert, but AFAIK KM Palette items can only be Macros.

I suspect you will need to use another tool to dynamically display a list if files in a folder to open.

If it were me, I'd use the AppleScript choose file command, which can be given a default folder to show.

choose file

Allows the user to choose a file.

Syntax
choose file required
with prompt text optional
of type list of text optional
default location alias optional
invisibles boolean optional
multiple selections allowed boolean optional
showing package contents boolean optional

I was surprised this wasn't a feature, or something someone had created, and then surprised that it was fairly quick to implement. Albeit not totally cleanly - the 'hacky' aspect is that it's awkward to create & add macros programmatically, so I manually pre-filled the palette with macros containing a stub function. Macros start out disabled, and then "adding" macros is really just enabling them.