Simple macros fail to end (until they time out)

I'm using KM 8.0.3 on macOS Sierra 10.12.6 on a 2017 iMac, 4.2 GHz Core i7, 32 GB ram.

I've been getting a lot of strange behavior from my macros in the past week or so, but one that I'm seeing fairly consistently is with some simple macros which activate an app. Each macro has just a single step, activated by a hotkey

The macro runs and activates 1Password, but when I click on another app, 1Password is immediately re-activated. This continues for about 5 seconds, at which point I get a notification that the macro has timed out, and then things return to normal.

But it's not just a 1Password issue - a similar macro which activates Geany has the same issue.

Besides being dead-simple, I've been using these for a couple of years. Rebooting seems to solve the problem for a little while, then it comes back. And not all of my activation macros have this issue (even though they're virtually identical to the 1Password one). Also, it doesn't seem to be an issue on my Macbook Air running High Sierra.

I don't see any other posts which would indicate this is a general problem, must be something unique to me ... but how do I find out what's going on?

Thanks.
LarryA

Sounds like your macro is being triggered by something other than just the one hotkey.
Please upload your complete macro, so we can be of more help.

See

Thanks for your help, and here's the macro (in both forms):

Open 1Password 6.kmmacros (1.8 KB)

You'll no doubt notice that is now says 1Password 6 instead of 1Password 5 ... but the problem remains the same, and even when it said 1Password 5, it was launching 1Password 6.

LarryA

The only reason that the macro is hanging on the Activate 1Password 5 or 6, is that I cannot find that app.

What happens when you try using Mac Spotlight to activate/launch 1 Password?

Check the KM Engine Log to see what macros have recently been triggered.