Simply macro to loop a key press

Hi all,
I am new to this app and I am convinced it will do what I need.
For gaming purposes I want to hold down the key 1 and whilst held down simulate a key 1 press every second until the point where I release the key 1.

I have create a macro that I feel should do this however every time I press the 1 key it DOES start the macro fine never stops, if I press 1 again then it spawns up a new and 2 macro and so on and so on, how can I get it to spin up only one edition of my macro and to stop when I release my key?

Any suggestions for a noob ?

Hi Lee,

How is your macro set up? This one I just put together to simulate your use case seems to work for me:

Type 1 Every Second.kmmacros (2.3 KB)

Hiya and thanks for coming back so quickly, I actually didnt think I would get a reply.
Below is my macro, its basically the same as mine however the issue I am getting is that if I release key 1 and then1 repress 1 it spins up another engine so now its double tapping the 1 key on and on.
It also never stops when I release the 1 key.

No problem! Luckily for you, your problem is actually easily solved once you know what to look for. While our macros are very similar, there is one crucial difference that explains the behavior you’re seeing. If you look at the final step of your macro, the “until” part, you’ll see that the loop is currently set to continue until the “1” key is down, when it should be until the “1” key is up. As it’s set up now, the macro will continue to execute until the “1” key is manually pressed (which explains why it doesn’t stop when the key is released currently). But of course, pressing it in turn triggers the macro again, which explains why another instance of the macro spins up and starts double tapping “1”. Hopefully that makes sense!