Simultaneous Instances

Keeping this as basic as possible but hopefully elaborate enough to get the status of the current ability / limitation in this regard.

I have 2 Macs that run everything out of iCloud (Essentially iCloud is the unified storage of my system, while accessing said data via a Laptop and Desktop).

Are there any software constraints or considerations worth noting that would prohibit me from, or somehow impair the hypothetical option of running the same &/ separate macros in two separate applications, one being on each individual machine?

I do have Macros Syncing successfully
Apple Handoff is disabled to prevent mixed system clipboard data

Sorry for the "basic" question but I didn't find anything explicitly pertaining to this and would love to know what power I hold :smiling_imp: :wink: :grin:

I have no experience in this particular area, but I just wanted to say that the poetic rhythm of this sentence gave me strong Architect energy.

2 Likes

You shouldn't have any problems running the same Macros on two different machines simultaneously.

Keyboard Maestro stores the values of Global Variables, Local Variables and Dictionaries locally (i.e. not in iCloud) so, they are unique to each machine.

The only possible (and highly unlikely) problems I can think of would be:

1. Two people editing (i.e. not running, but making changes to) exactly the same Macro at exactly the same time in the Keyboard Maestro Editor.

2. If two people were running a Macro at the same time that wrote data to the same shared file in iCloud.

2 Likes

I have indeed noticed occasionally some files (It was in fact the "Keyboard Maestro Macro.plist" that got caught :joy:) storing it either here or there in the local device Lib > Application Support area :slight_smile: