Single-key Screenshot Shortcut?

I'm a relative newbie, but I'm desperately looking for a way to create a single-button screenshot option on my Mac.

I'm watching a series of instructional videos that have approximately 40-50 pop-up info boxes throughout the video, and it would be incredibly helpful if I could use a single key to take a screenshot for later use, rather than having to clicking "pause" and "command+shift+4" and "resume" after every single pop-up text box. Could anyone help me find a way to do this?

Technically you don't need KM to do this. In the macOS system preferences, under Keyboard/Shortcuts/Screenshots there is a way to change the key to a single key. It says how to do that on the second line below:

Well, I don't know the software you're using to view the video, but many such programs have pause and resume mapped to the spacebar. If that's the case for the software you're using, make a macro that does three "Type a Keystroke" actions (found in the "Interface Control" group).

1. Space (this pauses)
  2. ⌘⇧4 (this takes the screenshot)
  3. Space (this resumes)

I wouldn't be surprised if you need to add a "Pause" step or two to give the system time to do what each simulated keystroke is asking for. Keyboard Maestro often works faster than the software it's controlling.

1 Like

Small note.... Since you didn't say which app you are using, it could be that you are watching your video in an app (like Apple TV) that prevents all screenshots from working. I always get a black image when I take screenshots of the Apple TV app, even when the video is paused. I think it has something to do with HDCP but I'm not sure. I've encountered this problem in some other apps also.