Some AppleScript Help Needed Please - File Rename Task

Hi, I am trying to automate a process that may use Keyboard Maestro, or Automator (or both) depending on how it ends up. One thing I do know is that as part of the process I need to:

Look at a filename
Loop through an array of 'phrases' (100 or so)
If there's a match, rename with the prescribed change.

It's not just a case of renaming underscores as hyphens or dashes, as there are certain patterns, but thankfully the patterns are quite simple.

To give a snippet:

If I find 1-1-1-, I want to replace with 1.1.1-
1-4-1- changes to 1.4.1-
1-4-10 changes to 1.4.10-

Basically, some digits at the beginning of the file, which are hyphenated need to change to . but ONLY those first two hyphen instances.

I already have a lookup for the changes ready (although I am sure that this is possible with Regex but I will never get my head around that.

I am a web developer and I know exactly how I'd do this in JavaScript, but AppleScript is something that I just can't quite fathom.

If anyone is able to paste a snippet of AppleScript that could accept a filename passed in (if it were a step in Automator or KM) and show looping through an array of date based on the above, I would REALLY appreciate it.

[For info, currently I have the file rename (minus that specific request) set up as an Automator service, so I can highlight a batch of files and trigger it with a key combination (not via Keyboard Maestro, but in the macOS shortcuts). If this is something that would make more sense to do in KM, I am all ears as that would make syncing such things across my Macs better, anyway.]

Then why not use JavaScript for Automation (JXA)?
See JXA Resources.

I'm sure this could be done in either JXA or AppleScript, but it also can be done using KM non-scripting Actions easy enough.

Here's an example to help you get started. Let us know if you have any questions.