"Spotlight" to copy/move files/folders

Is it possible to have a macro that runs a few actions one after another, where I can select a file/folder (or files/folder) in Finder, then choose if I want to copy or move, and finally perform a spotlight search and whatever I pick, it performs that action?

For example:
Step 1: select the file(s)/folder(s) I want to copy/move
Step 2: trigger the macro that will determine if it will copy or move with a simple radio button or dropdown (radio button would be better). When I hit a "submit button" it goes to the next step:
Step 3: Shows a window similar to spotlight where I can type my keywords and it will show the results (for example if I type "statements" it will show me all folders with that word in them). When I select that folder, KM automatically copies/moves those files/folders.

If KM can't do this by itself, maybe using BetterTouchTool or Alfred as helping tools?

I have found this in Alfred's forum, but since I'm not a developer or anything like it, I don't know if this would be a starting point, or if KM allows that kind of thing that as well?

You can do this without any fancy workflows in Alfred.

I just made this for you to try.

Move Selection via Alfred.kmmacros (54 KB)

Macro screenshot

Demo Video

CleanShot 2022-08-20 at 14.46.02

Trigger the macro, navigate to the destination, hit ↵ (or Escape to cancel).

1 Like

Thanks!

So I have a few questions:
1 - Is this possible with the free version of Alfred?
2 - When it shows the 2 folders inside that spotlight window, it's because you picked "desk" as your keyword. But will it work globally? Pretty much like spotlight, or do I have to set those keywords in advance?

My goal is that I can just pick any file/folder and then search for any folder on my disk and it will find it, then copy/move those files. Hope it makes sense...

1. Yep
  2. It's like Spotlight and your results will get quicker/more accurate the more you use it.

Have a go and see if you like it.