Strip out variable-length string from selected text (for legal case cites)

As a lawyer, I use a special citation format for cases. For example:

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 688 (1984)

Turpin v. Hill, 269 Ga. 302 (1998)

When I have to cite to a particular page in the decision, I write something like:

Turpin v. Hill, 269 Ga. 302, 304 (1998)

Sometimes, I want to be able to highlight this kind of case cite and strip out the pinpoint page reference. In the above example, I want to strip out “, 304” so that I’m back to the original case cite format: Turpin v. Hill, 269 Ga. 302 (1998)

I know how to create a macro that searches and replaces (or deletes) strings in the clipboard. I don’t know how I would search the clipboard and strip out a string that includes the comma following a numeric digit (in this case, a 2), the space after that comma, and the next set of digits which could be from 1-4 characters long, arbitrarily (because the page numbers I want to delete could be single digit or up to four digits long).

H’ep me!

UPDATE: PROBLEM SOLVED – SEE THREAD BELOW!

Hi Brian,

Something like this does the job:

Also to have a look to

can help.

--Alain

Thank you very much. I will tinker with this!

This worked just right:

Now I can highlight any case cite with a page reference and immediately strip it out. (In the following example, I'm working in MS Word. I found that with some case cites in Word, the reporter cite (e.g., "U.S.", "Ga." lost formatting, so I put a clipboard remove-style filter into the workflow, which solved the problem, except that when you highlight the whole cite you lose the formatting for the case title. Bottom line is you don't have to highlight the whole cite. Of course, it works without a hitch in plain text.) This makes my life much easier. Thanks folks - here's a demo:

Hey Brian,

This seems to work without interfering with the formatting in Word 2011.

Reformat Legal Citation.kmmacros (2.4 KB)