Sync Variables?

Hi guys I’m new to KM, porting over from Quickeys.

I was just starting a series of shortcut ports into KM, using variables, when I found out that the variables are not synced. Wow this was a disappointment because I thought KM was going to save me from my old Quickey workarounds of saving folder names in Dropbox as values I needed to share in variables. To rework all those using the same hacky workarounds will be so tedious.

Is there are way then in KM7 to do this? Please please give us a variable that can be selected to have the value synced. The Macro syncs, the variable NAME syncs but not the value.

Hey David,

I have a suspicion Peter won’t like that idea, but he’ll chime in and we’ll find out for certain.

In any case it’s easy to create a preferences folder in Dropbox and read/write to files.

File on-disk:
~/Dropbox/KM_Prefs/NoteFilePath.txt

KM action:
Read file ~/Dropbox/KM_Prefs/NoteFilePath.txt

You don’t need the .txt suffix, but that makes it easer to view from Quick Look, etc.

If you know a little regex you can get pretty sophisticated, but simple read/write is easy and fast.

-Chris

Thanks for that Chris. That might help but my Dropbox is in different places on multiple systems. Its not inside my home folder on any of them, with disk and paths all different. So the Macro’s that sync - the paths that point to the pref .txt file won’t point where I need it to between systems.

There might be away that someone more capable than I can find to work around that, but I’m afraid my coding skills are pretty minimal.

Hey David,

Hmm...

I'd advise you to make the DB folder location uniform amongst your Macs.

If you aren't willing to do that then I'd probably set a KM variable to the DB location on each Mac.

So the DropBoxPath variable might be:

/Dropbox/

Or whatever.

And/or you could have your complete KM_Prefs folder path in a variable and then just use the name of the pref file.