Syncing Variables via Dropbox

Hello all, first time poster and bona fide noob here.
I've been having a lot of fun with KM the past couple of weeks but I've run into several roadblocks.
I've taken the Macsparky course 2 times so far and watched just about every youtube video I can find.
I'm keen to learn more, as I'm loving what it can do.
I use KM at home and at work, and I sync via dropbox. I'd like to sync the variables as well. I do see there are a couple of posts on this, but from what I can read, adding on to old posts is frowned upon, so, I'm starting a fresh post.
I've created a folder in "Dropbox called Keyboard Maestro Variables Sync Folder". I've saved each variable as it's own .txt file with "SYNC_[variable name]"
I'm lost as to where to go from here. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

You use the Actions Read a File and Write to a File to do this (setting the Read a File Action to read to a Variable).

An example of a use of this is a Counter where the Counter goes up by 1 each time a Macro is run. You might want to always have the latest count no matter what Mac you are working on.

Click to Show Image

But a lot of the time Variables are set by the Macros themselves and as these Macros will be the same on all your Macs (via Syncing) they should work the same way on all your Macs.

Here is an example of what I mean:

Click to Show Image

That magenta Action will be the same on all your Macs. If you edit the Macro and change the text, it will change on all your Macs.

The majority of my Macros use Local Variables which only last for a single Macro run.

Even if I do need a Variable to persist between Macro runs (a Global Variable) it usually works fine to have them stored separately on each Mac. An example of that is using a Variable to store a setting from a choice of settings to make it a kind of default setting for the next run of the Macro.

1. Macro prompts me to say whether I want choice A,B or C

2. Choice is stored to a Global Variable