Translate via DeepL

Currently, DeepL (https://www.deepl.com/translate) is hot in the translators world.

Could anyone please create a macro to translate the content of the current clipboard and replace it with a translation in one of the available languages?

It would also be very useful to have any available alternative translations displayed (possibly via another keyboard shortcut).

Via the computer magazine C’t (https://www.heise.de/ct/hotline/DeepL-Uebersetzer-auf-der-Kommandozeile-3825206.html?wt_mc=print.ct.2017.20.162#zsdb-article-links) I’ve found this Python script:

But I don’t have the knowledge to get it working on my Mac :(.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Hi @CafeTran_Training, I'm not an expert in scripts, so I created this macro. Maybe it'll help you a little.
You have to select the languages with the cursor, because you cannot use Enter etc. here. Everything else is done by the macro.

11)Übersetzen.kmmacros (34,6 KB)

Greetings from Germany :nerd_face:

2 Likes

Assuming you have never fiddled around with python on your Mac, I recommend you this:

Install Python3

Easiest way:

1. Install the Homebrew package manager according to the instructions.

2. Now open a new Terminal window and install python3 with the help of Homebrew:

brew install python3

3. Wait for the install to finish.

Install the required python modules

Since you have installed python3 in a separate environment, do not follow the instructions on the Github page.

Instead, open a new Terminal window and just run this:

python3 -m pip install requests

This was the only module I had to install.

Save the script from the Github page

anywhere on your disk as translate.py

Run the script from within KM

in a Execute Shell Script action:

export LANG=en_US.UTF-8
/usr/local/bin/python3 '<path/to/the/script>/translate.py' -l DE "$(pbpaste)"

Of course, replace <path/to/the/script> with the actual path to your script file.

Here is an example macro: