Understanding AppleScript UI-Scripting to Click Menus

I am by no means an expert when it comes to AS. I can look at the code and "kinda" understand what's happening, if it's super basic.
Looking at another script and after some trial and error, I was able to click a certain menu item in Logic, but then the other options inside that menu aren't clicked.
Here's what I have so far:

activate application "Logic Pro X"
tell application "System Events"
	tell process "Logic Pro X"

click menu button 2 of group 1 of group 1 of group 3 of window 1
		click menu item 9 of menu 1 of menu item 23 of menu 1 of group 1 of group 1 of group 3 of window 1

end tell
end tell

So if I remove the second "click" line, I am able to click the Functions button:

But if I include the second "click" it doesn't go to the Humanize option:

I know I could use the Insert by Typing / Pasting action, but can't this be done with just the AS? I tried with 2 different actions for the 2 different clicks, but no luck...

This is what UI Browser shows me when I hover over Humanize:

@noisneil are you there?

I just found another issue, maybe someone can help me understand this?
So when I open multiple windows, that script may no longer work, because what used to be "window 1" is now "window 2" for example. I'm experiencing this right now.

Is there a way to select the upfront window, regardless of its name?

Looking at the screenshot, I can see that this is not a native Mac app. It's UI is constructed from unconventional components, similar in appearance to Adobe apps. So the fact that thess are exposed at all to accessibility is a credit to the devs who must have been conscientious.

Were you dealing with a traditional macOS menu in the menu bar, you woukdn't need to click or open the individual menu nodes as all menu items are kept in active memory to be triggered directly without having to be visible on screen.

I suspect this is not the case with this app. But let's test: