Use "prompt for user input" to ask for text that gets set to a named clipboard after hitting OK

I tried to search the forums but couldn’t quite find the answer to this. I’m sure it’s simple but I’m new to KM and just can’t figure it out.

I want the Prompt For User Input popup window to be able to take the text I type into it and copy that text to a specific named clipboard called “File Name”

How can I do this?

The first question would be - why are you using a Named Clipboard to store plain text (which is all you can type into a Prompt For User Input window)? You probably should be using a variable (which is exactly what the Prompt For User Input window gives you).

Other than that, it's pretty trivial:

Keyboard Maestro Actions.kmactions (1.3 KB)

EDIT: Note that it should be %Variable%Text%, not two percent signs in the middle as shown.

But again, what you are suggesting makes little practical sense so it may be you are asking the wrong question and should instead explain what you are actually trying to accomplish.

Why is a named clipboard not a good choice for plain text?
I have a number of fields in a document template in a pro audio program I work in that have the words “Name” in them that I need to replace with the actual file name.
I want the macro to prompt the user for the actual file name that will replace "Name"
What you described helped and completely worked.
I’m not sure I understand why the way I’m going about it doesn’t make sense.
Educate me, please.

A named clipboard offers no advantages for plain text. They are usually used for storing copies of the System Clipboard (which can contain all types of objects, not just plain text).

See Named Clipboards.

There are numerous advantages in using KM Variables for plain text.
See Keyboard Maestro Variables.

At the end of the macro, you can set a Variable to "%Delete%" to delete it, which is usually a good idea if you don't need the last value of that variable for future use.