Using Keyboard Maestro to control volume of individual apps

Hi, so I am a total noob to scripting. Basically i wanna create hotkey macros to set volume up/down for individual apps and assign those macros to a midi. Kinda like the PcPanel. Is there any way i can accomplish this?

I've never heard of PcPanel and I don't plan to get it, but if the problem is setting individual volume settings for different apps, here's the code I would write to solve that issue.

This macro isn't really what you are asking for, but I thought it was an interesting idea you had and I thought my solution was also interesting. I don't have a MIDI device right now so I'm not going to write a MIDI solution.

Individual App Volumes Macro (v11.0.2)

Individual App Volumes.kmmacros (4.7 KB)

Hi thank you so much. Maybe I wasn’t very thorough in my question.I wanna adjust the volume of every application independently. What I want to do is assign a knob for the volume of an application. So 16 knobs mean I could adjust the volume of 16 applications separately

Yes, I knew you probably wanted something like that, although I didn't know you had 16 knobs. For a non-MIDI solution my solution isn't bad.

Do any of your apps generate their audio simultaneously? You didn't mention if that is true. If so, finding a solution where each knob controls each app independently while each app generates audio output simultaneously could be tricky, because it could depend on the app, and you haven't listed your apps. If your apps are not generating audio simultaneously, then my approach is actually pretty handy. The problem with my approach is the setting the volume for each app is done by the bar in the KM macro. What I could do is modify my macro so that it remembers the audio setting for each app and recalls that value whenever you switch back to the app. But that's not quite what you want either.

The good folks at Rogue Amoeba have given us SoundSource for this very purpose :slight_smile: