Well This Is Interesting... Raycast API

Wonder / if how this could work with Keyboard Maestro workflows:

Thoughts?

2 Likes

I'm relatively new to KM, but I've built a few Raycast extensions by now. It seems to me that you could easily trigger a KM macro from Raycast within a custom extension—probably most easily triggered via URL. One of the benefits of Raycast is that it's got a decent form engine so I could imagine some good uses there depending on what you want to pass to a KM macro.

But in order to make something that feels more native to Raycast, I would like to see if a "Trigger Macro By Name" replacement could be built in Raycast. Is there a KM API to get the names of all active macros?

2 Likes

must be.

The KM Link plug-in for the El Gato Stream Deck and its software shows them.

(allows you to choose which KM macro from a list of them all.)

Update: This extension has been built and published for Raycast:

6 Likes

I just tried this.

Thank you very much for the hard work. This WILL make workflows faster.

KM and Raycast are so good together.

FWIW, I've been using Alfred for years, which does the same thing.

2 Likes

What does Raycast do and how does it manage workflows better?

The website says "Raycast is a blazingly fast, totally extendable launcher. It lets you complete tasks, calculate, share common links, and much more."

Is the idea to bring just about everything into one place?

Raycast is a new alternative to Spotlight or Alfred (among others). Lots of people here use these utilities for launching files / apps / webpages / keyboard maestro macros.

Hit Command-Enter, type a few letters or words, then hit enter again and voila, something useful happens. It’s usually easier than opening a finder window and going to the search box, or trying to remember a KM hotkey, or opening the browser and then searching bookmarks, etc.