Why is Apple Mail Message "Move to…" IF THEN macro not working?

Hello KM Forum,

As Apple Mail users know, KM actions have to deal with the shapeshifting done by the open/closed status of folders within folders.

I have tried long and hard to write a KM macro that addresses this, but am obviously lost, per the attached.

I want KM actions to cascade according to the aforementioned status.

I'm running Apple Mail v16 on Sonoma, but this has been an issue for long before that.

In fact, the "Apple Mail - Send Selected Email(s) to a Particular Mailbox" explains the pickle much better than I can, but doesn't offer a solution I understand. It seemed that a macro dependent on KM actions' success or failure is better than depending on Apple.

I thank you for your help in advance,

Paul

Move to Read for KM forum 20240711

Move To Read 20240711.kmmacros (5.7 KB)

I am not an expert at KM, but I think I see a mistake in your code. Your first IF statement looks fine, because the previous statement is the Select action. But your second IF statement seems to have a problem, because it doesn't follow a Select action, but instead follows an IF action. As the wiki page says:

The %ActionResult% token returns text indicating the success or failure of the immediate past action.

That word IMMEDIATE means the immediate previous action. Do you see the issue?

Can you write down what you are trying to achieve? I think it's

if there is a mail folder "Read 24" inside "Read 15 -" inside "iAssCloud PPS 20230625"
   move the email to it
else
   if there is a mail folder "Read 24" inside "Read 15 -"
      move the email to it
   else
      move the email to mail folder "Read 24-"
   end if
end if

If so, it might be easier to test for the existence of the folders then move the email, rather than relying on the success/failure of previous actions.

Many thanks to Airy and Nige-S for the feedback.