Youtube-dl shell script M1 Mac

I just picked up a new M1 MBP for work and went to download some videos with youtube-dl and yt-dlp only to find that I can't get it to run in KM 10.0.1 via a shell script the way I've been able to before.

Results: /var/folders/n0/1v52npnn72gcbk_2tjs66z400000gp/T/Keyboard-Maestro-Script-441BD7BF-0DA5-4E6C-A2B6-CC7D727B5654: line 2: youtube-dl: command not found

I can run this command in the terminal no problem with bash. I'm still very new to the terminal so apologies if this isn't a KM issue.

youtube-dl.kmmacros (4.9 KB)

Would you be willing to validate what's in that bin directory by checking the results of this:

ls /usr/local/bin/y*

I have an M1 Mac Mini and there is nothing in that folder. I'm guessing that your previous Mac had that file loaded into that folder, and your new Mac hasn't yet been prepared the same way. But I could be wrong.

Assuming that you can run youtube-dl successfully in terminal .

You cannot reference $PATH without defining it manually in KM first.

So alternatively suggest using this line instead
source ~/.bash_profile

More info can be found at [action:Execute a Shell Script [Keyboard Maestro Wiki]]

1 Like

I suspect @Sleepy is on the right track here. If you installed youtube-dl through Homebrew, it will not be in /usr/local/bin. The Homebrew people changed the directory for executables on Apple Silicon Macs. It's now /opt/homebrew/bin. To confirm where youtube-dl is, run

which youtube-dl

in Terminal.

If you're a heavy user of Homebrew-installed utilities, you'll need to change several of your macros to reflect their new location. Or you can change Keyboard Maestro's ENV_PATH variable, as described in the article @macdevign_mac linked to.

2 Likes

I guess I wasn't a good UNIX admin because I forgot about "which." Actually I always remember what it does, I just keep forgetting that the command name is "which." It's kind of a dumb name.

Yes you can – give it a try...