Pause until action is complete

I want to perform a series of actions within a program; each takes some time, but the time varies unpredictably. The actions are 1)Sync; 2)save; close window. If I just put those three actions in a row in the macro nothing works; the first action doesn’t happen and the computer just sits there until I cancel out of the macro. I’m assuming that the second command is interfering with the completion of the first.

How can I tell Keyboard Maestro to Sync and wait until that process is finished; then save and wait until that process is finished; finally close the window or whatever?

The program is iBank, but I’m sure this sort of thing comes up often. I’m sure it’s simple, but I’m a newbie and can’t find the answer.

The key is for KM to know when the Sync is complete.
What do you see on your iBank screen that tells you sync is complete?

Use this with the KM Pause Until action.

If you can't figure anything out, you can always use KM action "Prompt User for Input".
It will pause the macro there until your click the OK button.

Thanks for quick response! There’s a little message box that announces the steps and finally says "Last updated on [date,time]. I am not sure how to tell KM where to find this message. I’ve looked at all the conditions without finding one that looks like it would help. It would be great if, for instance, all other menu items were disabled until the current one was finished, but that doesn’t seem to be the case visually. The save item isn’t greyed out while the sync one is running, but I’ll try it out as if that were the case, just for an experiment.

I tried this experiment:
Select Sync
Pause until a menu item Save is enabled
Alert 'Syncing Done’
Select Save
Pause until a menu item Close is enabled
Alert 'Saving done’
Select Close

It was partly successful. Syncing started and immediately the Alert showed up; I waited until I saw that syncing was complete, then manually ok’ed out of the alert