A Beginner Starts to Climb "Mount RegEx"

In order to advance my use of Keyboard Maestro, I have decided to learn regular expressions (RegEx).
Like climbing a mountain, one must begin at the bottom.

To be helpful to other RegEx novices here, I will report progress as I start to climb, including any slips and falls along the way.
I invite others to comment here, too.

The motivation to learn:

Those comments, and other, similar encouragement on this forum, motivated me to get started.

Where, exactly, to begin?

After looking at several web sites, I have decided to start with http://regexr.com/
It seems beginner-friendly.
We shall see if I've selected the best route up this mountain, or not.

That site offers a video tutorial:

Time: 02:45.

Narrator speaks clearly and to the point.
I think he'll be a good guide on this climb.
But he speaks so quickly that I must watch the video again, probably 3-4-5 times, to absorb it.

As a beginner, I found the most useful part of that video to be where to find examples (time 1:46 to 2:05).
That will be my entry point to learning about RegEx; asking, “What can it do?”

I’ll report back here when I’ve found some answers to that question, (in the context of using Keyboard Maestro).

I welcome comments from other beginners. And I especially encourage critique from experienced climbers, who still remember their first climb up "Mount RegEx".

4 Likes

Tutorial videos tend to be either too slow or too fast, which makes most of them a pure annoyance, IMO. And since regex is all about text, why not learning by reading? A very comprehensive site is Regular-Expressions.info. It’s well written, beginner-friendly, has a tutorial and many examples.

For trying out regexes and playing around I would use regex101.com.

1 Like