Can KM bolt on this functionality to Finder?

Basically in Windows I can double click on any empty area of Explorer.exe to make it do something, in my case it moves up a folder like this https://i.imgur.com/W5RRHaQ.mp4

I'm a noob and only have 2 simple KM macros and I have no idea how to even make KM determine if an area of Finder is an empty area. What's the equivalent of AHK's "Window Spy" to get window names?

Keyboard Maestro doesn't have mouse triggers, so you wouldn't be able to perfectly copy this functionality, because you are asking for it to work when a user double clicks.

There is a chance that the Finder app has AppleScript properties/methods that would let you get close to this using hotkeys or USB key codes instead of primary mouse button clicks. And since some mice are programmable (maybe not yours) and can send USB key codes from those buttons, that would get you a step closer.

As a reminder, I'm correct only 80% of the time, so maybe someone else can get you closer than I'm getting you here.

Unless I'm misunderstanding something, it does have mouse triggers; they're the USB Device Key triggers. This macro fires whenever I hold double-tap the left mouse button on my MX Master mouse:

This also works for internal trackpads:

So I think the answer is yes, you can build such a macro. But I'd probably add a modifier key, or some other way of making sure you mean for the macro to fire.

-rob.

I guess what I meant (and wasn't clear) is that you can't "intercept" a mouse key press using USB Device Key triggers in such a way that the mouse click won't continue to do what it always did. Hotkeys intercept/eat/consume the clicks, while USB Device Key triggers do not.

This user wants to REDEFINE the double click mouse button, so that double clicking does something different than it already does in Finder, which means a USB Device Key trigger won't suffice, because it doesn't consume the key, but continues to pass it to the app.