Can the Mouse Scroll Wheel Be Used as a Trigger?

Hi,

I was wondering if there is a way to make my scroll wheel on the mouse be a trigger for an action. I have found information on how to make a trigger cause a mouse wheel action, but I'd like the the opposite.

Any thoughts? Thanks.

No, moving the scroll wheel cannot be used as a trigger.

Clicking the scroll wheel button can be used as a Device Key trigger.

Hello, have you find a way around this? I'm also interested in using the Scroll Wheel as a trigger. Thanks!

@peternlewis?

There is no change on this. It is not planned for version 10 either.

1 Like

I also have a need for this.
I have been using "another" macro application for many years that provides easy access to use the scroll wheel (up and down) as a trigger, which I use with modifiers to Zoom In and Out in some specific applications. Because that macro app is no longer supported in the current Mac OS, I am in the process of switching to Keyboard Maestro (and having to rewrite all my macros), but this missing scroll wheel trigger is almost a deal killer for me. Not having it constantly stalls my work flow. Please reconsider.

Hey Rocky,

Keyboard Maestro 10 just released, so that's not happening any time soon if at all.

What specific macro app were you using that supported this?

Zoom-In and Zoom-Out in what way?

Hardware zoom? Or other?

-Chris