Efficient Way to Move Macros to a New Mac

Does anyone have an efficient way to move Macros to a new Mac? I don't need all my macros but some would be nice.

KM was among the first three installed on my new machine.

Hi @bocciaman - there are many ways to do this. But I have long ago stopped worrying about how to transfer Keyboard Maestro Macros onto new computers as I have syncing enabled in Preferences.

Syncing works with either iCloud or Dropbox. You basically just check the option on the Mac that has all your current Macros, set a path to store your Macros in iCloud or Dropbox. Then on the new Mac, again check the option and point it at the same file. That's it. Not only a good way to transfer your Macros to a new machine but also if you have more than one Mac you are using, a way to have the same Macros on each current Mac.

I've been using this syncing method for at least 10 years (I've lost track of how long I've been using Keyboard Maestro) with absolutely no issues. And as I use Dropbox I have the added bonus that I can restore the file that stores the Macros to an earlier version if I really mess something up... and I've used that function several times.

5 Likes

Your answer was awesome and everything worked! One other question, after the initial sync, how does it stay synced up? If I create a macro on one Mac does it automatically appear in the other without moving files locally?

I would bet you $99 to $1 that it keeps synching automatically. Because it's called "sync" not "transfer".

@bocciaman yes it is automatic and not limited to two Macs. Just be sure that you have the same version of Keyboard Maestro installed on all of the Macs.

1 Like

What I mean is, what's created is a sync file, not a folder where all the macros go to. So I'm not sure how the syncing continues after the initial "sync file" is created. But it doesn't matter I guess.

Aahh.. The "same version" part that's good to know. Thank you!