Get Mouse Position, Run Other Actions, Then Return Mouse Pointer to Same Position

I'd like to know to how create an action that gets the position of the mouse, and then later, in another action, returns the mouse to that same position.

I am not a programmer. I have never taken a programming class. If you could make your answer as simple as possible for a non-programmer, that would be wonderful.

Thank you

1 Like

I wished there were two actions to create for this.

1. save current mouse position.
  2. restore saved mouse position.

It could be that simple.

But as a non-programmer like you, I still don't know exactly how to do that.

This way you save the current mouse position.

And probably this is how the old position is restored. But fortunately there are many who know exactly how to do that. :slightly_smiling_face:

3 Likes

Yes, it really is as simple as that! Before reading @Frankb's reply, I made two test macros to work it out for myself, and they look the same, and they work.

So, @Donald, you might want to make two macros, one with the action to set the global variable (as shown in the first image), and one with the action to read the variable (as shown in the second). Then you can assign a different trigger to each macro.

It would be possible to combine them into one macro but that would add unnecessary complexity, I think.

More usually it's the other way round -- in a single macro you'd:

1. Save the mouse position
  2. Do some stuff that involves moving the pointer around
  3. Return the mouse to the previously-saved position

...if only so you don't have to play "hunt the pointer" after the macro has finished!

1 Like

Yes, fair comment if step 2 is needed. Your interpretation of @Donald's aims is different from how I read it. I took the pointer question to be the full extent of the task but indeed he may well have a greater ambition for his macro than the second paragraph encouraged me to believe. :wink:

1 Like