Getting the Results of a JSON/XML Query

Hi!

Let me first point at that I'm new to KM and also to JSON request.

Here's my scenario:

I want to select a word and then copy it to the clipboard and use "Set Variable "xyz" to Text "SystemClipboard%" in order to use the openthesaurus.de API (www.openthesaurus.de/about/api) to get synonyms for the selected word.

I've then passed this to "Get URL "..." with "display results in a window, but all I get is nothing.

This is what it looks like:

I see two possible issues here. (I'm no expert on this topic.)

First, you aren't passing the variable into the Get URL action. Your variable name is varSyn and you don't pass the variable anywhere into the URL.

Second, the Get URL action appears to be intended for use to get text or an image. I'm not really sure if it can work for you in this way. (I'm not a KM expert, just an average user.) I think you may need to convert this action to a different one called Execute Shell Script, and then pass it to the curl command. Like this:

I'm 90% sure that this approach will work, I'm not sure if the Get URL approach will work.

Thanks for your advice!

I have changed it to this:

Unfortunately no file is created.

Executing this in the terminal results to this error:
curl: option --ouput: is unknown

It appears that you typed ouput instead of output. That's an error you can fix.

Hey Tobias,

You missed the Keyboard Maestro shell variable format in @Sleepy's post #2 (link).

The format is:

$KMVAR_YourVariableName

Your script is leaving off the $KMVAR_ prefix.

See: Shell Scripting on the wiki.

This macro works:

Get Synonyms from OpenThesaurus.de v1.00.kmmacros (4.7 KB)

I don't understand why you're trying to output a JSON string to a JPG file; that's not going to work...

NOTE:

It's never a good idea to compose a complex command from various parts at run-time.