Gmail - Compose Macro

When composing Gmail …

• I want to have a UNIQUE compose window open up
  • I want it to be placed in the proper location and size on the main screen.

The following macro serves to meet the above stated interests.

Compose message in Gmail.kmmacros (4.9 KB)

1 Like

Hey There,

I'd do the heavy lifting more directly with the shell or with AppleScript.

###AppleScript:

set gmailURL to "https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?ui=2&view=cm&fs=1&tf=1&shva=1"

tell application "Google Chrome"
  activate
  set newWin to make new window with properties {bounds:{0, 22, 1040, 1196}}
  tell newWin
    set URL of active tab to gmailURL
  end tell
end tell

The shell script will be a little more bombproof; the AppleScript a little more versatile.

The AppleScript might time-out if Chrome took a long time to launch, but that can be worked around in the script of course.

-Chris

Thanks Chris,

I have some programming experience, but really not a whole lot. I come more from a background of an electrical and systems engineer. But I certainly aspire to the idea that implementing a solid, foolproof solution.

But the fact I could whip together the script to do exactly what I wanted (albeit, perhaps slower, more prone to race conditions, “not commercial ready") underscores the beauty of Keyboard Maestro.

My current script makes composing a fast email 100x better than the old way of opening Gmail: clicking compose; getting a little window; needing to reposition; etc. I almost enjoy the fact that it takes 6 seconds to open the window because I get to watch KM elegantly dance around Google’s Gmail dysfunction, with all the effort required to bring that compose window up exactly where I want it.