Google Chrome Scripting Question (Trying to Get Text via AppleScript)

Hello, Everyone

Got a silly Applescript question. I am trying to grab the text (not source code) out of an open Chrome tab so I can parse out some information in it. Chrome is the best browser IMO, but Safari has support for "get text of document one, like this

tell application "Safari"
   set theText to text of document 1
end tell

and brute-force things from there.

But I can't find an easy way to do this in Applescript in Chrome. Does anyone have any ideas? My workaround is for KM to select all text and copy, which feels inelegant.

Another way, I know, is to figure out how to get the info using difficult scripts as outlined by @JMichaelTX here:

Get Text of Element Using XPath Contains Text [Example]

But as I'm an inexperienced programmer this is probably beyond me. The source code of the code in question seems pretty encrypted, and I can't find clean any kind of hooks like in his example of how to get the data that way.

So if there's any "best" way to get the text from an open website using Chrome either using Applescript or KM, that'd be great to know.

Thanks!

1 Like

Very easy -- no AppleScript required:

%ChromeJavaScript%document.body.innerText%

2 Likes

Thanks! There's always a simpler way to do things directly with KM...

That is very helpful

Can you share where/how you looked this up or figured it out - I am pondering what other tricks are out there I can discover with those resources.

Sure. I started with a search in the KM Editor App for inserting a Token, and I entered "chrome" and got this:

The very first item got my attention, so I click on the "Help" link with it selected.

That takes you to this KM Wiki page:
https://wiki.keyboardmaestro.com/token/ChromeJavaScript

with this:

The %ChromeJavaScript%document.forms[0].innerHTML% token returns the result of some JavaScript executed in the current Google Chrome tab.