How Do I Know I've Reached the End of File (EOF) in a File I’m Editing with KM?

I'm trying to edit a text file and I want to know when I get to the end of it, either by recognizing the end of file mark or using the number of lines in the file. I haven't been able to figure out any way to do it. It may be obvious, I'm a newbie. Thanks for any help.
--Jim

If you are using KM, you should not need to be concerned about End of File.
How are you trying to edit?
It is best to upload your macro so we can better understand what you are trying to do.

Please read:
Tip: How Do I Get The Best Answer in the Shortest Time?

I want to reverse the order of the lines in a text file. My macro is incomplete and may be pretty awful. It's more of an exercise for me than essential. What I think I need is the Until condition, which I've done in other environments by EOF or linenumber = number of lines.

Reverse Lines2

A shell command for reversing lines is

tail -r file.txt

It could be incorporated into your macro.

3 Likes

@drdrang has given you the solution to reverse the lines in your file.

However, it needs some clarification.
@drdrang, could you please clarify?
I'm a bash novice, but my understanding is that the command you provided will only output the last 10 lines of the file to stdout.

I think the OP wants to reverse ALL lines in the file, output back to the file.
How would you do that?

@jimtparr, do you want to do further processing the the lines in the file, or just reverse the lines?

This makes a big difference in how the shell script is setup, and what additional KM Actions are needed.

For your reference, you can use the KM For Each action with a "lines collection" in ether a file or a KM variable. That will provide a KM Variable that contains each line as it loops through the text. You do not worry about the EOF -- KM handles that for you.

When you use the -r switch to reverse the order of the lines, tail outputs all of the lines by default, not just the last 10.