Insuring (idiot-proofing) a macro by using "if application is running"

I’m designing a repetitive macro that has a loop that has to be executed thousands of times, however, in the midst of this macro is a program that is crashing every once in a while (irregularly, and I’m in contact with the developer about it, but there is no ETA for a fix in sight).

Would it work if I wrap my entire macro inside an “If Then Else” action, which states "If all of the following are true: this application is running, then execute "

I’ve never used If Then Else before so I’m asking if it works as I am hoping: will the macro continue to execute smoothly, unless my problem application crashes, in which case, will KM stop the macro at that point?

Or does KM only check for the running of the app upon the launch of the whole macro? (In which case, this action would be useless to me.)

I hope that makes sense.

Another way to ask it: how often does KM poll for the conditions specified in an If Then Else action? Only at the beginning? Or constantly?

If it only polls at the beginning, is there a way to write a KM macro with a loop in such a way that it stops if a specific application is no longer running?

for example:

Is Chrome for example, running ?.kmmacros (2.9 KB)

tell application "System Events"
	count of (application processes where name = "Google Chrome")
end tell

Ah! So what you’re saying is that I could use this INSIDE my loop, and then use a Cancel All Macros action as a consequence if my app isn’t running.

That would make sure that the macro doesn’t keep running (and mess up stuff) when one of my target applications isn’t there anymore.

Thanks so much!

Quick question: why would you use the AppleScript? Wouldn’t it be simpler to use:

If Then Else > If All Conditions Are Met > If This Application > (the problem application) > Is Not Running > Execute the following actions > Cancel All Macros