Spotlight Search Prompt Performance in Rare Use Cases

It’s a great macro, but it is intolerably slow in operation for me.

Then you must have a very slow Mac. I've been using it for a couple of years now, and it always has been fast for me, using any of these Macs:

1. 2013 MBP Intel Core i7 (2.7GHz)
  2. 2015 iMac-27 Quad Core 3.3 GHz Intel "Core i5"
  3. 2019 iMac-27 3.6GHz 8-core Intel Core i9

That might be true for you, but it's not true that the only explanation is that my Mac is slow. None of my Macs is slow. Also, the slowness of the macro has been mentioned by others on this forum.

For you, and any others that find Dan's Spotlight Search slow, it must be due to conditions on your Mac. I just tested it again with his macro that allows you to select a macro, and even with my 2300+ macros, it was near instantaneous. I guess we'll just have to agree to disagree about the performance of this macro.

It works well for simple lists. But I need to use it for a list that’s hundreds of entries long, and each entry is hundreds or thousands of characters long. This bogs down the search functionality of the macro. So it’s not necessarily a machine issue; it’s more likely that it’s a use-case issue. I made my own HTML-prompt macro that works lightning fast, which is proof that it’s not a machine issue. The only drawback of mine is that it doesn’t have standard arrow-key navigation, but I found a way around that, as well.

No joke! ==That is an extreme and rare use-case==. I don't think it is fair to @DanThomas for you to state his macro is slow when you are trying to use it for such a rare use case. I can't image the need or benefit of having each line be thousands of characters long.