Trigger Any Specific KM Macro Instantly Via LaunchBar Action

My mind is blown, y'all.

A minor "holy grail" for me has been: how can I quickly and easily trigger a KM macro in Launchbar. Yes, I know someone has made an action where you first invoke KM in LB, then hit space and hunt for the macro you want. I also know about the Trigger Macro By Name macro. But I wanted to trigger a macro instantly from LB.

I knew that one could, theoretically, create LB actions that ran scripts. But I found the LB action editor extremely confusing. Well, through trial and error, I figured out how to make a simple LB action that runs a script. Then, I read up on KM's scriptability. It's a beautiful thing.

I am no coder, and I am not proficient in any scripting syntaxes, but for what I want to do, this sh*t ain't rocket science, it turns out. :wink:

Here are, for me, the key Applescripts:

Tell KM to execute a macro:

tell application "Keyboard Maestro Engine"
  do script "[Name of Your Macro]"
end tell

You can also identify a macro by UID:

do script "D0C150C7-8A0C-4837-918A-427E2BCFB6B9"
end tell

Again, this is all on the KM scripting guide page (including instructions for obtaining macro UIDs).

It also occurred to me that you can tell the computer to execute keystrokes and key combinations via Applescript, which would also allow you to trigger a KM macro or conflict palette. So, for example:

tell application "System Events"
  keystroke "n" using {control down, command down}
end tell

Now, plug one of those simple scripts into a custom LB action, and you're good to go.

The method for creating a LB action is simple:

First, invoke the Action Editor in LB:

Click the + and select "New Action":

Enter the title of your action and hit return. This will populate the Action Name and the File Name.

Click on the "Scripts" tab, and choose AppleScript for the Default Script.

Click "New Script", enter a name for the script with suffix `.applescript`.