How to create a macro to expose expanded characters

Hi, I'm new to KM, and to Mac. I've searched a bit, but I can't find exactly what I'm looking for, and I am finding KM a bit overwhelming.

I use primarily one program for professional work that does not utiilize OpenType. On PC, I used AutoHotKey to create a script I called "Typography Boost." When I press a key (in that case, F12), it turned on the script, gave me a little popup saying "Substitution on," and changed the mapping of the keyboard to something like:

a = á (press-and-hold does not work in this program, and it's slower).
A = small-caps A
...etc

as well as

1 = superscript 1
Shift-1 = oldstyle 1
...etc.

I mapped these according to their Unicode points. Then pressing F12 again would turn it off.

I would like to do the same on KM. It looks like a very powerful software (and I was amazed by the scripts posted on the forum). I'm wondering if it could also allow different variations of these mappings, since there are sometimes different Unicode points depending on the typeface I'm using.

I'm very willing to learn how to do this myself, I just need some starting direction. Thank in advance!

Take a look at my Text Toolbox:

It has an option to enter Diacritics (recently updated here) and another for special characters via popup menus. They should illustrate how to do it.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing that macro, much appreciated. But it's not quite what I'm looking for, unless I'm not understanding how it works. I only want to press F12, type a capital letter to return for me the small cap of that letter (as one example), and press F12 again to end the macro. There about 40 or so substitutions that I want to be able to access. I want to do it without using the mouse, or needing to look at the screen... just F12-keystroke-F12, as I've been used to that for years now.